top of page

Carlow Community Games

The Carlow Community games U15 boys and girls badminton competitions were hosted recently by Ballinabranna badminton club. Three teams took part in both competitions. Ballon/Rathoe, St Lazerians and Myshall. A round robin system was used to determine who would represent Carlow in Leinster.

The Ballon/Rathoe team of Kerry Nolan, Marie O’Neill, Leanne Carroll, Aoibhe Connolly and Amy Maloney are all coached by myself in Ballon Badminton club and put up a valiant effort against the St Lazerian’s team. Amanda Walsh, Nicole Sheenan Farrell and Isabel O’Donavan, are all members of the Amond Coaching Academy and did enough to secure a final spot on the night.

Ballon/Rathoe then played Myshall and Eabha Kelly another academy player. Myshall proved too strong winning 2-1 to meet St Lazerians in the final. The St Lazerians girls came out on top in the final to claim county titles and gold medals.

The Boys competition saw the same 3 teams compete.

Ballon/Rathoe’s Lorcan Doyle, Cormac Kinsella, Adam Nolan, Conor Bolger, Danny Broderick and Ciaran Lewis fought hard but St Lazerians’ team captained by academy player Josh Hughes just about did enough to secure a final berth winning 2-1.

The Ballon/Rathoe lads then went on to play the Myshall team who had 4 academy players in the shape of Jack Nolan, Rigertas Rutkauskas, Fiach Kavanagh, and Colm Beck with Myshall winning all three games to set up a final with St Lazerians.

This final saw Myshall beat the defending champions to claim the gold medals.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page